top of page
Search
sonicscotland

Collaboration

Updated: Jan 18, 2021

One of the core goals for my project was to create a multi-disciplinary piece with an inter-generational element as I felt it would enrich the process and final output to collaborate with another Strathkelvin creative. Following a discussion of the overarching concept, published local poet, J.B. Quinn, composed a poem in response to a rough cut of my visual sequence. J.B.’s first draft contained an over-abundance of material so the writer kindly allowed me to select lines below, which I felt most complimented the visual narrative.



The finished poem is accessible at: https://sonicscotland.wixsite.com/scotscapes/gallery?pgid=kjx6vpm9-d8d28778-6c5d-42a0-b55a-9776dcd1574a. We then recorded our narrated parts separately and I edited the dialogue in Pro Tools to tighten up its correlation to the visual. The process was highly collaborative, challenging and rewarding. Editing poetry was time-intensive and took me out of my comfort zone as it entailed me making creative decisions which were completely unfamiliar. I also balanced communicating and compromising with the writer with considering how edits would affect my production process. In this way, I significantly developed my interpersonal, editing and aural narrative skills.

16 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page